Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment prior to travelling.
**Royal Mail are currently experiencing delays with international shipments. If you require your order urgently please choose an alternative shipping option**

Product Reviews: The Flute Gym

Stephen Clark
£22.95

Return to Product and Purchase

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 (8 reviews)

5 out of 5 “Brilliant guide to great flute-playing!”

Reviewed by Donna, 2 years ago
(Unverified Purchase)

I couldn't be more excited about a flute book than this one! I have started teaching some of the concepts that I hadn't come across yet before this book to my university students, and I have seen so much improvement so quickly. It really is an excellent guide to some of the fundamental elements to great tone production, smoother scales, and overall playing ability, along with some practical down-to-earth advice at the end. No matter if you are a teacher, student, or professional, I highly recommend this book!

23 people found this review helpful. Report abuse

5 out of 5 “Best Technique Book Available ”

Reviewed by Zac, 2 years ago
(Unverified Purchase)

This book covers all aspects of flute playing, written in exacting detail with clear explanations. The added QR codes which take the reader to demonstrative videos on how to make best use of the exercises really sets this book apart from any other. Excellent value for money, I can’t recommend highly enough!

22 people found this review helpful. Report abuse

5 out of 5 “Fantastic Book!”

Reviewed by Ross, 2 years ago
(Unverified Purchase)

Incredible book to help flutists of all standards. Worth the purchase!

18 people found this review helpful. Report abuse

5 out of 5 “If you're looking for new inspiration for your flute practice, buy this book! ”

Reviewed by Helen, 2 years ago
(Unverified Purchase)

This book seeks to encourage you to focus on ten key elements to improve your playing, QR code taking you to video demonstrations of how to execute your practice. This is a brilliant idea, and will ensure that we know exactly what the end result should sound like. A well thought out contribution by someone who understands the challenges of keeping up meaningful practice in our busy a world. Love it!

18 people found this review helpful. Report abuse

5 out of 5 “What a find! - a treasury of advice, engaging exercises and innovative video advice and demonstrations. ”

Reviewed by Carolyn, 2 years ago
(Unverified Purchase)

The Flute Gym is a treasure of exercises and advice which, I know from experience, really do make a difference. Each written chapter is accompanied by invaluable short guide and demonstration videos accessed by QR codes - something I've never seen in flute exercise books before. Emphasis on progress is highlighted in every section and in the videos so I know what to listen for in my practice and what I can do to improve my playing. I cannot recommend this book enough. I love it!

14 people found this review helpful. Report abuse

5 out of 5 “Fantastic resource!”

Reviewed by Sally, 2 years ago
(Unverified Purchase)

This technique book is unlike any other, in that it comes with such clear and personable instructions that one feels fully equipped to work through beneficial and creative exercises oneself, as if you had your teacher right there with you. Excellent value for money, and suitable for students wishing to advance their technique and seasoned professionals alike.

12 people found this review helpful. Report abuse

5 out of 5 “ Highly recommended for all flute players!”

Reviewed by Danielle, 1 year ago
Verified Purchase

This book is very accessible for all levels of player. Stephen's writing makes each concept really clear and simple to understand, without reducing the high quality of the exercises, which are equally valuable for both beginners and advanced players. The book deals with all aspects of flute playing (breathing, tone, flexibility, scales etc.) and even includes some really great tips on handling performance anxiety. I love that Stephen explains HOW to do each exercise and also WHY each exercise is important. There are also QR codes included for each exercise, which take you to a video demonstration on his website.

7 people found this review helpful. Report abuse

2 out of 5 “Poor value for money”

Reviewed by Jeannette, 2 years ago
Verified Purchase

I was disappointed in this book. There are 100 pages, and about a quarter of these consist of scales in different keys, (which I already have in specific scale books). Some of the chapters are very sketchy, for example the one on harmonics. I was able to find much more comprehensive information on the internet!
I thought that it was not clear what level of player the book was intended for. Some sections seemed more suitable for beginners, while others, such as the last chapter seem to be aimed at professionals.
All in all, I felt that this book was poor value for money.

5 people found this review helpful. Report abuse

Return to Product and Purchase