Call Us: 020 8662 8400


Two Sonatas from "Essercizii Musici" in F Major & A Major


Our Description

First ever Urtext editions of these sonatas

  • Charming works of easy to moderate technical difficulty
  • Straight forward, clear continuo realizations

These three editions each comprising two solo sonatas with basso continuo are all taken from Telemann’s famous Essercizii musici; a collection of 24 sonatas including 12 solo sonatas and 12 trio sonatas. These were moulded after Corelli’s Sonata da Chiesa and have four movements: slow-fast-slow-fast. The sonatas long thought to stem from the late 1730s are now believed to have first been published by the composer in approx. 1729. The main sources are the three part-books from the original edition of 1729.

This first ever Urtext edition, edited by the Bach and Telemann scholar Klaus Hofmann, is taken from the Telemann Musical Works. The continuo realisations are by the editor.

Item Details


  • Part 1: Violin
  • Part 2: Piano
Category: Violin & Piano Repertoire
Publisher: Bärenreiter
Publisher's reference: BA5880
Our Stock Code: 1310634
Media Type: Paperback - Score and parts