Please note that we will be closed for stock taking on 18-19 March.
Call Us: 020 8662 8400


Two (1987)


Our Description

This is Cage's first composition in his series of “number” pieces. Each of its two parts has ten time-brackets, the eighth of which (7'15" - 7'45") is fixed, the others flexible. Sounds in a given time-bracket are not to be repeated. The piano part is notated on two staves, one to be played in the given order, the notes being played in any relation to the sounds in the other staff. Each time-bracket consists of 7 to 10 tones. The flute part consists of extremely soft (mp-pp), low tones. Each time-bracket here contains only one tone, with a total of three different pitches across the total duration of the work.

Difficulty guide: 6
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).

Item Details

Category: 20th Century Flute and Piano Music
Publisher: Edition Peters
Publisher's reference: P67176
Our Stock Code: 955683
Media Type: Paperback