Please note that we will be closed on 2nd and 3rd March due to stock take.
Call Us: 020 8662 8400




Our Description

This work, which was written shortly after the Trumpet Sonata and the Five Pieces For Piano, was first performed by Georgina Dobree and the composer at the 1957 Darmstadt Festival. The score was subsequently lost, but was rediscovered by Kevin Corner in 1983.

'This is a dramatic, emphatic and at times extravagant piece. The first movement is a Moderato reaching through wide-flung clarinet lines and keen piano gestures to a great climax near the end. Then comes a quick movement, a kind of demonic scherzo, including a cadenza for the clarinettist. The finale is an Adagio that gradually achieves a sort of simplicity, though not before exceedingly testing times for both players.

Item Details

Category: Music for Bb Clarinet and Piano
Publisher: Chester Music
Publisher's reference: CH55902
Our Stock Code: 947176
Media Type: Paperback