Call Us: 020 8662 8400


Sonata for Eight Flutes, Op58


  • Interesting, worth a look

Our Description

Commissioned by Margaret Lowe and premiered in 1994. Subsequently performed at NFA.

"This Sonata is made up of five movements, each distinctive and with its own story to tell. Movement 1, 'Andante misterioso' is very evocative. Beginning and end are characterised by long drawn out melodies pitted against even longer chords. The centre of this movement is 'Allegro vivace', with staccato notes later set against a broad melody. Movement 2 begins 'Allegro vivace' and is fugal in outline with a broad melody, often marked 'tenderly', set against scampering 6/8 quavers. In the 3rd movment 'adagio misterioso' triplets and semiquaver patterns give a feeling of intense longing. This is a beautiful movement and was enjoyed by all who played it. Movement 4 is the shortest, with intense semiquaver flourishes. The main theme begins in the 1st flute and is taken up by the other instruments, gradually climbing in intsensity tothe final flourish. The final movement 'Adagio', sums up all the previous work. An almost hesitant start leads, though semi-and demi-semi-quavers, to an impassioned triumph. Another misterioso section leads to an even greater climax at the end.

Difficulty guide: 8-9
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Flute doubling on Piccolo
  • Part 3: Flute
  • Part 4: Flute
  • Part 5: Flute
  • Part 6: Alto Flute
  • Part 7: Alto Flute
  • Part 8: Bass Flute
Category: Flute Choir Music: 8 Mixed Flutes
Publisher: Lynwood Music
Our Stock Code: 974141
Media Type: Paperback