Please note our Christmas Opening Hours and Last Posting Dates
Call Us: 020 8662 8400


Sonata Allegro - 1st Movement from 2nd Clarinet Quintet (1789)


Our Description

taken from the book:

'This piece belongs to a group of around 20 substantial fragments of instrumental music begun by Mozart in the last 3 years of his life and left incomplete at his death in December 1791.....

This completion is part of an eight-year project to produce multiple completions of Mozart's late fragments.... I don't know how Mozart would have finished them, but i do know what sort of structural, rhetorical and expressive strategies he was interested in from month to month in the last ten years of his life.  So, in attempting alternative completions of each fragment, I have tried to map out stylistically plausible continuations while emphasising how provisional any such exercise will inevitably be.....'

fragment completed by Timothy Jones for Clarinet in Bb and piano

Difficulty guide: 6
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).

Item Details


  • Part 1: Bb Clarinet
  • Part 2: Piano
Category: Music for Bb Clarinet and Piano
Publisher: Queen's Temple Publications
Publisher's reference: QT160
Our Stock Code: 1389647
Media Type: Paperback