Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment before travelling!

Women Composers: A Graded Anthology for Piano, Book 1

Edited by Melanie Spanswick
You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.

From the Publisher

This three-volume series of piano music by women composers is a progressive compendium of educational literature with a broad repertoire from the 17th century to the present day. For each piece, the editor has written short instructions with rehearsal tips as well as biographical notes on the women composers. The collection covers all levels of difficulty from easy (volume 1) to medium (volume 2) to difficult (volume 3) and is an indispensable addition to lessons and concerts.



“Spanswick has done us all an immense favour by researching, compiling and presenting these fabulous collections, which unquestionable represent a milestone in music publishing." Andrew Eales - Pianodao

"Melanie Spanswick’s Women Composers: A Graded Anthology is utterly superb, and will surely be of significant interest to pianists everywhere.” Andrew Eales - Pianodao


  • Elisabetta de Gambarini (1731–1765): Minuet
  • Florence Ada Goodrich (1850–1928): Water Sprite
  • Narcisa Freixas (1859–1926): L’Ocell
  • Felicitas Kukuck (1914–2001): The Boat
  • Barbara Heller (*1936): Joker - Melanie Spanswick (*1969): Mirage
  • Rachael Forsyth (*1982): Soggy Shoes Blues
  • Élisabeth Jacquet de La Guerre (1665–1729): Menuet
  • Marjory Kennedy-Fraser (1857–1930): A Harvest Reel
  • Hedwige Chrétien (1859-1944): Pierrot sautille - Gertrud Orff-Willert (1914–2000): Andante con moto
  • Ivana Loudová (1941–2017): The Sleeping Beauty
  • Wendy Hiscocks (*1963): Fig and Fennel
  • Vera Mohrs (*1984): Two Cats Playing
  • Anna Bon (1738–after 1767): Andante
  • Maria Szymanowska (1789–1831): Mazurka
  • Elfrida Andrée (1841–1929): Allegro moderato
  • Agathe Backer Grøndahl (1847–1907): Song of Youth
  • Ethel Smyth (1858–1944): Minuet
  • Mélanie Bonis (1858–1937): Frère Jacques
  • Samantha Ward (*1982): Rockin’ Fingers

Item Details


  • Part 1: Piano
Category: Classical Piano Albums
Publisher: Schott
Publisher's reference: ED 23422
Our Stock Code: 1579208
Media Type: Paperback (52 pages [score])

20% off Selected Schott Titles20% off Selected Schott Titles