Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment before travelling.

Winter in Sherwood: Phantasy for Flute, Clarinet and Piano

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.
  • New
  • Staff Pick

Staff Pick

“Immediately appealing”

Chris Hankin Just Flutes staff member - [email protected]

This is a great all-round good piece of music. It's tuneful with approachable technical challenges, there are different characters to portray which stretches musical imagination, and it will enchant audiences. Jason Carr uses all the instruments skillfully, contrasting their colours to increase the effect of the various changes of mood between the three sections. There are few contemporary works for this instrumental combination that are as immediately appealing as this and if you have three good players it will sound marvellous!

From the Publisher

A welcome addition to our catalogue by theatre composer Jason Carr, who hesitates to confess this piece started as a dream that he’d written a Robin Hood ballet, with a stage full of people dancing a rather un-English Tarantella at Nottingham Fair. The resulting one movement Phantasy is in three standard Fast-Slow-Faster sections with plenty of lively interaction between the instruments. The piece is an evocation of the noble, mythic England of Richard the Lionheart, Robin Hood and Sherwood Forest and includes a march depicting the callous ruling class, some contrasting, comic music (the good-natured commoners), and a deep, wintry section before we we finally arrive at Nottingham Fair, where good - or at least Spring - prevails in the form of a glorious final Tarantella.   Also available in a version for Flute, Alto Flute and Piano

Our Description

Also available for Flute, Alto Flute and Piano

Performance duration (approx): 9'00

Difficulty guide: 8
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is total beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Bb Clarinet
  • Part 3: Piano
Category: Music for Flute, Clarinet and Piano
Publisher: Wonderful Winds
Publisher's reference: PC004
Our Stock Code: 1677263
Media Type: Paperback - Score and parts (34 pages [score])

20% off Edition Peters20% off Edition Peters

20% off ALRY Publications20% off ALRY Publications