Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment before travelling.

Two Sonatas from Set 2: Nos 5 & 6

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.

From the Publisher

The Andante opening Sonata No. 5 in D major, with its delicately chiselled, ever-changing rhythms in the flute line, exemplifies to perfection the galant style. The subsequent light-footed Allegro assai looks back to Quantz and even to Vivaldi. The piece concludes with one of Balicourt’s most original movements in terms of structure: a Grazioso ‘core’ in D minor is flanked by two Presto sections, the second of which starts as a seeming da capo of the first but quickly, and quite unexpectedly, diverges; the throwaway staccato ending is a real audience-pleaser.

Sonata 6, in E major opens with a lyrical Andante that almost breathes the air of the Classical style. The second movement, in contrast, is a typically baroque Siciliana, moving to E minor and displaying a rich harmonic palette. The finale is a rondeau varié in which both repeats of the refrain are ornamented in different ways. As Balicourt’s description, Alla Polonese, conveys, the rhythm is that of a polonaise, a stately but slightly exotic dance that had become popular throughout Europe after the electors of Saxony, starting with Friedrich August I, assumed the Polish crown.


  1. Sonata in D major, Second Set No 5
  2. Sonata in E major, Second Set No 6

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Basso continuo
Category: Classical Flute and Piano Music
Publisher: Edition HH
Publisher's reference: HH443FSP
Our Stock Code: 1405965
Media Type: Paperback - Score and parts

20% off Barenreiter20% off Barenreiter