Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Instrument trials by appointment only: book an appointment

Trois Études de concert for Piano

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.
  • New

From the Publisher

These piano studies, fully worked out in summer 1848, but presumably sketched earlier, were published in the German original edition at the beginning of 1849 simply with the numbering 1–3. In the first French edition published at the end of that year, they were given the new title “Trois Caprices poétiques” – possibly at the publisher’s request – and also received the characteristic individual titles “Il lamento”, “La leggierezza” and “Un sospiro”, which have remained for these pieces that are still popular today. In comparison with the early studies, in which the purely technical performing aspect is to the fore, the idea of poetic sound is at the heart of these compositions, which were clearly written for concert performance. For this revised version, several newly-discovered or newly-available sources were available, including the autograph which served as the engraver’s copy.


  1. Il lamento

    La leggierezza


  3. Un sospiro

Item Details


  • Part 1: Piano
Category: Piano Repertoire
Publisher: G. Henle Verlag
Publisher's reference: HN 1573
Our Stock Code: 1605495
Media Type: Paperback