Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment before travelling.

Toot (& Hoot) Suite for Flute, Clarinet and Piano

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.

From the Publisher

Toot (& Hoot) Suite A four movement Suite for more advanced musicians. This Suite was brought together from two current compositions (movements II & IV), the other two movements were conceived around 28 years ago – originally for solo clarinet and piano – now re-drafted for flute, clarinet and piano. Flute and Clarinet have equal prominence in all movements. The Toot (& Hoot) Suite was first performed July 2018 at Christ Church Freemantle by Claire Stocker (Flute), Alison Hughes (Clarinet), and the composer at the piano.
I. Waltz: A jazz feel waltz in swing time with occasional straight phrases. Incorporating memorable and catchy themes; there is much lively, involved and colourful material from beginning to end.
II. Compound Simples: Cycles through a three bar sequence of 6/8, 2/4 & 5/8 – hence the title, and nothing to do with meerkats at all. Flute and Clarinet open with simple themes which are developed and varied gracefully throughout the movement – a pleasant divertimento.
III. Pink and Blue: A slow and intense romance with provoking extended lyrical phrases. Expressive statements and elaborate figures feature completely, whilst rich harmonies support the evolving themes.
IV. In the Niche of Time: This movement is a fun, animated, engaging, and attractive showpiece with a substantial unaccompanied cadenza for flute and clarinet. Rhythmically detailed with catchy motifs – this is an exciting conclusion to the suite.

Finalist: NFA Newly Published Music Awards 2020

Difficulty guide: 8
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is total beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).


  1. Waltz
  2. Compound? Simples!!
  3. Pink and Blue
  4. In the Niche of Time

Item Details

Category: Music for Flute, Clarinet and Piano
Publisher: Forton Music
Publisher's reference: FM806
Our Stock Code: 1449143
Media Type: Paperback

20% off Wonderful Winds Publications20% off Wonderful Winds Publications