Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Our showroom is now open for instrument trials by appointment - Book an Appointment

Time Pieces for Alto Sax Vol 1


Approved Exam Music

Recommended for the following exam grade(s):

ABRSM exam syllabus
1, 2, 3

Our Description

Time Pieces is an exciting series of repertoire which explores the wealth of music written from the thirteenth century to the present day. The pieces are presented chronologically within each volume and all include the year in which they were written too, so you can map your journey through time! Time Pieces for E flat Saxophone is a two-volume anthology providing a graded selection of well-crafted and idiomatic arrangements for saxophone and piano, Grades 1 to 5. All of them have been carefully written by Ian Denley to practise the note ranges and keys of the early grades while providing straightforward piano accompaniments for the teacher to play. From Dowland to Vaughan Williams and from Lully to Weill, Time Pieces for E flat Saxophone allows the pupil to get a real feel for the different styles of music through time and will provide an invaluable, varied source of further study and recital repertoire.

Difficulty guide: 1-3
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).


  1. A Romp Anon.
  2. The Rune of the Weaver Anon.
  3. A Plain Song Anon.
  4. Fine Knacks for Ladies from 'Second Book of Songs or Ayres' Dowland
  5. In Sherwood livde stout Robin Hood from 'Fourth Booke of Ayres' Jones
  6. Bois epais from 'Amadis' Lully
  7. Bouree 2 from 'English Suite No.2' J.S. Bach
  8. Marche funebre del Signor Maestro Contrapunto Mozart
  9. Minuet from '12 German Dances' Haydn
  10. Romance from 'L'elisir d'amore' Donizetti
  11. Serenade from 'Harold in Italy' Berlioz
  12. The Merry Peasant from 'Album for the Young' Schumann
  13. Grandfather's Dance from 'The Nutcracker' Tchaikovsky
  14. Prelude from 'Jack in the Box' Satie
  15. Linden Lea Vaughn Williams
  16. The Joker from 'In aller Fruhe' Grechaninov
  17. My Horse has Cast a Show from 'Pacific 1860' Coward
  18. On the Hills from 'In Ireland' Corker
  19. A Christmas Tune Jacob
  20. Promenade from 'Simple Suite No.3' Reeman

Item Details

Category: Other Alto Sax Albums
Publisher: ABRSM Publishing
Publisher's reference: 9781860961984
Our Stock Code: 1118889
Media Type: Paperback (44 pages [score])