Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment prior to travelling.

Three Trio Sonatas for Two Flutes (or Two Violins) and Basso Continuo, Op. 5 HWV397/398/401

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.
  • Interesting, worth a look
  • Recommended edition

From the Publisher

The three Trio Sonatas in this edition were taken from the sonata collection published in London by John Walsh in 1739. Since hardly any chamber music compositions have come down to us from Handel’s later years other than the well-known D major Violin Sonata, these Trio Sonatas can be considered as one of Handel’s last contributions to the field of instrumental chamber music.

The first edition specifies two violins or flutes as melody instruments for the Op.5 Sonatas. However, since scoring indications, particularly in instrumental chamber music, were taken very liberally at that time, it is also perfectly legitimate to play these works in other instrumental combinations (for example, violin and flute).

Difficulty guide: 7-8
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is total beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).


  • Sonata in D major Op.5 No.2 (HWV 397)
  • Sonata in E minor Op.5 No.3 (HWV 398)
  • Sonata in F major Op.5 No.6 (HWV 401)

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute or Violin
  • Part 2: Flute or Violin
  • Part 3: Basso continuo
Category: Trio Sonatas
Publisher: Bärenreiter
Publisher's reference: BA4228
Our Stock Code: 1510195
Media Type: Paperback - Score and parts

20% off selected Boosey & Hawkes music20% off selected Boosey & Hawkes music

20% off Kevin Mayhew books20% off Kevin Mayhew books