Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment prior to travelling.
** Royal Mail international shipments are subject to delays. If you require your order urgently please select an alternative shipping carrier.**

Three Times Four for Woodwind Quartet

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.
  • Interesting, worth a look

From the Publisher

Three times Four – Three movements of character which present a balanced distribution of themes for all parts and providing some challenge for all instruments. A well practised control of dynamics and articulation are required to achieve a good sense of ensemble unity.

I Figure of Eight: Two main themes dominate this movement; both are quite complex figures (hence the title), but have a natural harmonic and rhythmic progression throughout. Themes and counter subjects are shared throughout the ensemble. Elements of tension and release/discord and resolution are also a feature, although the movement closes perhaps a little unfulfilled.

II Regret (Pulse I): This movement has a gentle, but compelling hypnotic pulse all the way though, and was composed employing a minimalist approach. Textures are built around the repetition of smaller shaped figures, whilst lyrical melodic voices rise, then fall from prominence. Control of both dynamics and balance of ensemble is essential in this movement.

III In the Niche of Time: This movement is a fun, lively, engaging, and attractive showpiece for the entire ensemble. Perhaps rhythmically challenging initially, but once mastered – commit to a speed as quick as you dare, and have fun!  Jonty Tunes 2017

Three Times Four was a finalist in the Newly Published  Music Competition at the 2019 NFA

Performance duration (approx): 10'

Difficulty guide: 8
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is total beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).


  • Figure of Eight
  • Regret (Pulse I)
  • In the Niche of Time

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Oboe
  • Part 3: A Clarinet
  • Part 4: Bassoon
Category: Wind Quartet Music: Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, Bassoon
Publisher: Forton Music
Publisher's reference: FM689
Our Stock Code: 1432138
Media Type: Paperback - Score and parts (7 pages [score])

20% off Universal Edition20% off Universal Edition

Don't Dream. Play - 12 months' 0% Finance on Selected FlutesDon't Dream. Play - 12 months' 0% Finance on Selected Flutes

20% off all Barenreiter titles20% off all Barenreiter titles