Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment before travelling.

Three Quintets for Flute, Oboe, Violin, Viola and Cello, Op. 18

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.

From the Publisher

Ignaz Pleyel’s numerous chamber compositions include a set of three quintets for the infrequently encountered ensemble of flute, oboe, violin, viola and cello/bass. First published in 1788 as the composer’s Op. 18, the quintets were quickly taken up by various publishers throughout Europe. Today, they are all but forgotten.

As one might expect of music by Pleyel, the Op. 18 quintets are imbued with appealing melodies and pleasing harmonies. They are also surprisingly inventive in terms of combining instrumental timbres, in spite of the limits imposed by their reduced scoring. Technically, they are not especially difficult, however the flute, oboe, violin and viola are all given several solo episodes, some of which may require a bit of practice!

These works are highly suitable for programmes featuring mixed wind and string chamber music, and would make perfect companion pieces to Classical quartets or quintets by, for example, Mozart, Haydn, Boccherini or Cambini.

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Oboe
  • Part 3: Violin
  • Part 4: Viola
  • Part 5: Cello
Category: Other Flute and String Music
Publisher: Edition HH
Publisher's reference: HH518FSP
Our Stock Code: 1640274

20% off Wonderful Winds Publications20% off Wonderful Winds Publications