Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Instrument trials by appointment only: book an appointment

Three Meditations for Alto Flute Solo

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.

From the Publisher

Three Meditations for Alto Flute Solo by David Loeb: Autumn Snow, Winterscape, and The Gray Sea and the Long Black Land. Autumn Snow was originally composed for an ‘alto’ shakuhachi (a fourth lower than the standard size), reworked for alto flute to allow the expansion of the range and facilitate certain successions of tones, while preserving the character of the original instrument. The opening of Winterscape comes from another shakuhachi composition, but otherwise this is a new piece, albeit in the spirit of the original. The Gray Sea and the Long Black Land is the first line of a poem by the 17th century English poet John Clare. The poem begins as a nocturnal landscape, continues with a solitary boatman landing his boat, and ends with a rendezvous of lovers.

Our Description

Finalist: NFA Newly Published Music Awards 2022

Difficulty guide: 8
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).

Item Details


  • Part 1: Alto Flute
Category: Unaccompanied Alto Flute Music
Publisher: ALRY Publications
Publisher's reference: A43
Our Stock Code: 1491425
Media Type: Paperback (8 pages [score])