Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment prior to travelling.
** Royal Mail strike action may affect deliveries on 30th September - 1st October. If you require your order urgently please select an alternative shipping carrier **

Thistle & Minuet: 16 Easy Pieces from the Scottish Baroque
Includes CD

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.

Approved Exam Music

Recommended for the following exam grade(s):

ABRSM exam syllabus

From the Publisher

- Meet Scotland's 18th-century composers! - Classical pieces influenced by folk, and vice versa - Dance tunes celebrating new bridges in Scotland (1769-1809) - Scottisch love songs - First modern edition of James Oswald's 'Thistle' sonata - Two pieces by Stamitz's Scottish pupil the Earl of Kelly - Creative use of 1st position on the violin - Also suitable for flute and oboe - Simple, effective accompaniments - Newly researched, authentic texts The edition is part of the Trinity syllabus 2007 (grade 1)

Our Description

Editor's Choice
Subtitled '16 Easy Pieces from the Scottish Baroque', these are really nice arrangements. There is not a jig or a reel in sight here, but 4 Scots songs and tunes celebrating new bridges, along with sundry marches and minuets and the Thistle Sonata by James Oswald. There is an optional bass part as well as a playalong CD so good value all round - very Scottish!

Difficulty guide: 3-6
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).


  • Gigue
  • The Blathrie o't
  • The yellow-hair'd laddie
  • Low down in the broom
  • Hey, Jenny, come down to Jock
  • The New Bridge of Edinburgh
  • The South Bridge og Edinburgh
  • The Bridge of Perth
  • The New Bridge of Ballater
  • The New Bridge of Rutherglen
  • Count Sax's March
  • March for the 22nd Regiment
  • Largo
  • Mrs. Ker's Minuet
  • Minuet in A, with variations
  • Sonata in G "The Thistle"

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Piano
Category: Playalong Classical Flute Collections
Publisher: Schott
Publisher's reference: ED 12773
Our Stock Code: 1014822
Media Type: Paperback (20 pages [score]); includes accompaniment CD