Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment prior to travelling.
** Royal Mail international shipments are subject to delays. If you require your order urgently please select an alternative shipping carrier.**

Tapiola for Piano 4 hands or Two Pianos, Op. 112

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.

From the Publisher

The symphonic poem Tapiola is the final major composition for orchestra that Sibelius was able to complete and publish. It was commissiones by the conductor Walter Damrosch for the New York Philharmonic and was premiered on 26 December 1926. Taking the forest god Tapio as name giver, Sibelius once more got his inspiration from Finish mythology.
The present arrangement by Einar Englund and Peter Lönnqvist now allows a performance in the course of a chamber music concert. By choosing the scoring for piano for four hands, or alternatively for two pianos, the arrangement stays as close as possible to Sibeliusʼs complex orchestral texture.

Tapiola is also available in the original version for orchestra at Breitkopf & Härtel. The edition takes over the music text published in volume I/16 of the complete edition Jean Sibelius Works.

Performance duration (approx): 20'00

Item Details

Category: Music for Multiple Pianos
Publisher: Breitkopf & Härtel
Publisher's reference: EB 9390
Our Stock Code: 1512700
Media Type: Paperback

Don't Dream. Play - 12 months' 0% Finance on Selected FlutesDon't Dream. Play - 12 months' 0% Finance on Selected Flutes

20% off all Chester titles20% off all Chester titles