Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Instrument trials by appointment only: book an appointment

Suites, Op5

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.
  • Exceptional value for money

From the Publisher

The cycle of suites for flute and basso continuo, Op. 5 is J.-M. Hotteterre's second important set of works in this genre. The first published as Op. 2 has a special significance in the history of music and for performing practice. The composer added namely to the second edition of the work sufficient information concerning ornamentation and performance. (For the modern critical edition of Op. 2 see volume Z. 13901 of the Urtext Series of EMB.) Hotteterre's Op. 5 published in the present edition is an organic continuation of Op. 2. This fact was also emphasized by the composer himself who entitled them "Premier Livre" and "Deuxiéme Livre" on publication. The ornaments and directions for performance occur here just as copiously as in the revised edition of "Premier Livre".

Difficulty guide: 4-6
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Piano
Category: Baroque Flute and Continuo Music
Publisher: Editio Musica Budapest - Urtext
Publisher's reference: Z13902
Our Stock Code: 1010510
Media Type: Paperback (92 pages [score])