Our showroom is open for instrument sales by appointment.
Book an in-store or video consultation
Call Us: 020 8662 8400


Suite Imaginaire for Solo Flute


  • New
  • Highly recommended

Staff Pick

“Delightful Baroque music for solo flute”

Chris Hankin Just Flutes staff member - chrish@justflutes.com
Johann Martin Blochwitz is an unfamiliar name but this piece is really good! There are definite echos of the A minor solo Partita by JS Bach here, especially in the layout of the dance movements and also in the writing. The Allemande is very like its more famous counterpart but the Courante uses interval writing throughout. The beautiful Sarabande has two Double variations and the closing Gigue is short and sweet. Not quite an arrangement, more of an arrangement of original separate movements, this is a piece that will test your technique and fire up your imagination!

From the Publisher

Johann Martin Blochwitz (1687-1742), not a very well-known name even amongst flutists, initially studied in Leipzig before he was employed as an oboist (1711) and then flutist (1717) in the Dresden Court Orchestra, where he performed as second flutist alongside Pierre-Gabriel Buffardin. The Suite Imaginaire presented here has not previously existed in this form. Blochwitz composed many movements of dance music, some of them are collected under the title "Fantasier og Preludier. 8 Capricier og andre Stykker til Øvelse for Flöÿten af ​​Quantz," a volume which was published in 1740 and is found at the Royal Library in Copenhagen. In addition to works by Johann Joachim Quantz it includes the dances of Blochwitz which are presented here. Four of these movements have been compiled into a suite: Allemande, Courente, Sarabande, and Giga.

Difficulty guide: 8-9
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).


  1. Allemande
  2. Courente
  3. Sarabande
  4. Giga

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
Category: Solo Flute Repertoire
Publisher: ALRY Publications
Publisher's reference: F30
Our Stock Code: 1464597
Media Type: Paperback - Score and parts (14 pages [score])