Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment before travelling!

Suite for Flute and Piano

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.
  • Staff Pick

Staff Pick


Chris Hankin Just Flutes staff member - [email protected]

This delightful Suite, originally for flute and orchestra, was premiered by the Welsh virtuoso flute player Frederick Griffith in 1892 and has been beautifully reconstructed by Colin Bradbury. Edward German was a contemporary of Elgar and there are some similarities in style between the two composers. A Valse Gracieuse in F major has running semiquavers throughout, whilst the enigmatic Souvenir has unusual shifting harmonies under the melody. The final movement is a Gipsy Dance in A minor. There is no doubt that this piece fills a gap in our repertoire and as such is both valuable and welcome.

From the Publisher

Inspired by the playing of his friend, the Welsh virtuoso Frederick Griffith, and first performed by him with the composer in 1892.

The manuscript of the Suite has been lost. In following the original Rudall Carte edition the present editor was faced with many inconsistencies and a number of discrepancies, too many to list, between the score and the solo part. These have been resolved in most cases in favour of the solo part, where the extra phrasing marks are assumed to have been added as the result of performing experience.

Difficulty guide: 8
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is total beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).


  1. Valse Gracieuse
  2. Souvenir
  3. Gipsy Dance

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Piano
Category: Romantic Flute and Piano Music
Publisher: Lazarus Edition
Publisher's reference: M708007180
Our Stock Code: 992916
Media Type: Paperback - Score and parts (28 pages [score])

20% off Selected Schott Titles20% off Selected Schott Titles