Call Us: 020 8662 8400
We regret that we have temporarily suspended orders below £135.00 to countries in the European Union due to new VAT Import Regulations in force.
We are working with our shipping partners to resolve this situation, and should be able to supply orders by mid July.

Suite Florentine (1919)

  • Interesting, worth a look

From the Publisher

The Suite Florentine for violin and piano written by Charles-Marie Widor in 1919, is an arrangement of the Suite for Violin and Piano, op. 76 (1903), itself a collection of stage music from La Sulamite (1903). It was first performed at the Élysée Palace on 20 February 1919 for Queen Hélène of Italy. Widor played the piano on that occasion and dedicated the work to the Queen.

Like many of Widor's later works, it has no opus number. The suite highlights Widor's great talent for adopting the harmonic languages of various stylistic periods and his harmony is very eclectic. Johann Sebastian Bach is a great favourite and a clear influence.

It remains unclear which flautist of the early 1920's might have requested a version of the Suite Florentine for flute and played it a first performance of it. Perhaps it was Louis Fleury.

Finalist, Flute and Piano category, National Flute Association (USA) Newly Published Music Competition 2017

Difficulty guide: 7-8
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).


  1. Cantilena
  2. Alle Cascine
  3. Morbidezza
  4. Tragica

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Piano
Category: 20th Century Flute and Piano Music
Publisher: Universal Edition
Publisher's reference: UE36760
Part of the Pahud - The Flute Collection series
Our Stock Code: 1387469
Media Type: Paperback