Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment before travelling.

Suite in B for Oboe and Piano

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.

From the Publisher

Kay composed his Suite in B for Oboe and Piano in 1943, finishing the piece at Quonset Point, Rhode Island in July. He withdrew the work, along with several other compositions, in the mid-1950s. The distinguished musicologist, lexicographer, and composer Nicholas Slonimsky (1894-1995) commented on this act of self-criticism in an article published in 1957: "Some of the material he rejects is of excellent quality and it would be a pity if he would physically destroy the manuscripts." Kay did try to destroy all the copies of the Suite in B for Oboe and Piano, but a few have survived.

Slonimsky's assessment is correct, at least in this instance. The Suite in B for Oboe and Piano is a fine work, reflecting careful craftsmanship. Cast in three movements, the work pays homage to the multi-movement structure of a Neo­Baroque suite with its opening Prelude, the Recitative and Air, and the final Dance. Kay employed a twentieth-century harmonic language: The first move­ment begins in B minor and ends in D major. The second movement is in D major but ends on a tonic major seventh chord. The final movement explores some dif­ferent tonal areas but is firmly rooted in B major. Prairie Dawg Press is proud to be able to make the Suite in B for Oboe and Piano available once again to oboists. We hope that it will prove to be a useful addition to the recital repertoire.

The Suite in B received its first public performance while Kay was in residence at the American Academy in Rome as a recipient of the American Prix de Rome. Oboist Pietro Accaroni and pianist Gherardo Macarini premiered the piece on 29 November 1949.

Approved Exam Music

Recommended for the following exam grade(s):

ABRSM ABRSM Oboe (from 2022)
Grades: 5, 6, 7

Item Details


  • Part 1: Oboe
  • Part 2: Piano
Category: Oboe Repertoire
Publisher: Prairie Dawg Press
Publisher's reference: PDP044
Our Stock Code: 1497663
Media Type: Paperback - Score and parts

20% off Wonderful Winds Publications20% off Wonderful Winds Publications