Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment prior to travelling.

The "Spring" Quartet arranged for Four Flutes, KV387

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.
  • Staff Pick

Staff Pick


Chris Hankin Just Flutes staff member - [email protected]

This wonderful string quartet by Mozart has been sensitively adapted by Robert Rainford. The parts stay as close to the original as possible and there has been very little pruning with the result that flute players are given a chance to perform this substantial work in all its glory. Each movement would stand on its own too which makes this a great investment as it will be used year after year. If you don't mind arrangements this is excellent!

From the Publisher

The String Quartet No. 14 in G major, K. 387, nicknamed the “Spring” quartet, was composed by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart in 1782 while in Vienna. This is the first of the Haydn Quartets, a set of six string quartets he wrote during his first few years in Vienna in honor of the composer Joseph Haydn, who is generally viewed as the father of the string quartet form. The first movement contrasts fairly diatonic passages with chromatic runs. In contrast to the standard quartet form, which places the minuet as the 3rd movement, this quartet has the minuet as its 2nd movement (another example of this ordering is the String Quartet No. 17). It is a long minuet, written in the tonic key, with its chromatic fourths set apart by note-to-note dynamics changes. Its trio is in the tonic minor key and has a suitably darker and more unsettled mood. The minuet is followed by a slow movement in the subdominant, whose theme explores remote key areas. The fugal theme of four semibreves in the finale points ahead to the finale of Mozart’s “Jupiter” Symphony of 1788, a movement which also begins with four whole notes that are used in a fugal fashion, in the coda, and it also points back to Michael Haydn’s Symphony No. 23 in which the finale is also a fugato based on a theme of four semibreves.

Performance duration (approx): 30'

Difficulty guide: 7-8
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is total beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).


  1. Allegro vivace assai
  2. Minuet and Trio
  3. Andante Cantabile
  4. Molto Allegro

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Flute
  • Part 3: Alto Flute
  • Part 4: Bass Flute
Category: Flute Quartet Music: Four Mixed Flutes
Publisher: Forton Music
Publisher's reference: FM946
Our Stock Code: 1472943
Media Type: Paperback - Score and parts (20 pages [score])

20% off selected Boosey & Hawkes music20% off selected Boosey & Hawkes music

20% off Kevin Mayhew books20% off Kevin Mayhew books