Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment prior to travelling.
** Royal Mail strike action will cause delays from 24th November. If you require your order urgently please select an alternative shipping carrier **

Spanish Dances for Flute and Piano

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.

From the Publisher

The editor Fereshteh Rahbari combines three big names in the edition of Spanish Dances for flute and piano. In a combination of characteristic rhythm and tone painting, the collection reflects the taste in music of the 19th century, which enjoyed great popularity beyond national borders.

The Catalan composer Enrique Granados is represented with two movements from his Danzas Españolas, Op. 37, which were originally composed for piano solo in 1890. As duets for flute and piano, Andaluza and Orientale convince with their authentic timbre, individual tonal language and personal agogics, which combine interpretative freedom with musical tradition. Rahbari complements three multifaceted dances by the Spanish violin virtuoso Pablo de Sarasate, which, with the lively Miramar, op. 42 in the characteristic dance rhythm, the dreamy, slow Playera, op. 23 and the traditional Zortzico, op. 39, give an insight into the work of the exceptional artist. The magic of Spain and its unforgotten zeitgeist are once again reflected in Tango, op. 165, no. 2 by Isaac Albéniz, which completes the medium-difficulty edition.

The six dances are varied and contrasting in character, both individually and as a result, a great stage program that makes you dream, smile and marvel. Motifs, themes and rhythms complement each other to create a varied play of colours.

Difficulty guide: 5-6
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).


  • Granados, Enrique: Andaluza 
  • Granados, Enrique: Orientale 
  • Sarasate, Pablo de: Miramar 
  • Sarasate, Pablo de: Playera 
  • Sarasate, Pablo de: Zortzico de Iparraguirre 
  • Albéniz, Isaac: Tango

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Piano
Category: European Folk Flute Music
Publisher: Universal Edition
Publisher's reference: UE 38081
Our Stock Code: 1580419
Media Type: Paperback