Our showroom is now open by appointment only.
Book a shop appointment or video consultation
Call Us: 020 8662 8400


Sonate (1953)


Our Description

The Composer and Organist Reinhold Finkbeiner was born 1929 in Stuttgart. His catalogue of works contains more than 70 compositions, whereof the works for organ make out the biggest part. The sonata for flute and piano was already written 1953 and was first performed by Jens Josef and Ernsta Breidenbach on 18th February 2004 in Darmstadt. The flutist Jens Josef writes in the preface of this edition: "Through the intense and intricate contrapuntal work, which lends the Sonata the feeling of constant flux, the composer is able to allow his melodic themes and motives to continually shine through by using often quite subtle changes of rhythmic accent, thus keeping them ever new and fresh. Despite the very dense and complex texture of the music, the Sonata is always very transparent in timbre and also very idiomatically written for the flute. ... The classical qualities of the flute – grace, virtuosity and a smooth sound – are all given ample space, but they are here confronted with a complex musical texture and quite a unique sense of humor. This mixture is without question a very special and very individual quality in this work."

Difficulty guide: 8
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).

Item Details

Category: 20th Century Flute and Piano Music
Publisher: Zimmermann Frankfurt
Publisher's reference: ZM35330
Our Stock Code: 985857
Media Type: Paperback