Call Us: 020 8662 8400
We regret that we have temporarily suspended orders below £135.00 to countries in the European Union due to new VAT Import Regulations in force.
We are working with our shipping partners to resolve this situation, and should be able to supply orders by mid July.

Sonata (Spirit of the Hudson) for Bass Flute and Piano

  • Highly recommended
  • Award-winning product

From the Publisher

A welcome addition to the bass flute repertoire, Dorff’s 14-minute sonata is designed as two pairs of slow-fast movements. While composed as a complete 4-movement sonata, either half may be performed alone as a 7-minute recital work. The Sonata springs from Dorff's impressions of the Hudson River: "Every thought led to the river’s essence, its own spirit and life — flowing through raw nature, from skinny trickles to mightiness spawning cities; supporting subtle life, and becoming a central commons for human societies." The movement titles are: I. Sprawling, burbling; II. Sparkling, glistening; III. Under Winter; and IV. Spring Spirits. "A truly stunning composition. One will never hear the bass flute the same… the emotional colours that are invoked through Dorff’s use of lyricism and rhythmic drive set this gem in a league of its own. I’m honoured Danny… Thank you for inspiring the next generation." -- Peter Sheridan (

Winner: NFA Newly Published Music Competition 2020 

Performance duration (approx): 14'00

Difficulty guide: 8-9
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).


  1. Sprawling,burbling
  2. Sparkling, glistening
  3. Under Winter
  4. Spring Spirits

Item Details


  • Part 1: Bass Flute
  • Part 2: Piano
Category: Bass Flute Music
Publisher: Theodore Presser
Publisher's reference: 114-41890
Our Stock Code: 1467062
Media Type: Paperback - Score and parts (23 pages [score])