Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment prior to travelling.

Sonata for Piccolo and Piano

£30.95 £24.76
You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.
  • Sale
  • Award-winning product
  • Staff Pick

Staff Pick

“A must for serious piccolo players!”

Chris Hankin Just Flutes staff member - [email protected]

This is proper music for the piccolo! A substantial 12 minute showcase of all that it can do, this piece presents a real challenge of technique, rhythm and musicianship. The opening movement showcases low register colour contrasting with  angular 11/16 rhythms. The dreamy Moderato is also relatively low, requiring secure tuning and breath control to sustain the long phrases,  whilst the playful Vivace uses changing metre to inject pace and flutter tonguing for impact. The absence of very high notes increases the overall appeal of the work, making it much easier to programme. If you are a serious piccolo player this piece is a must!



From the Publisher

Commissioned by a consortium of nearly two dozen piccoloists, Amanda Harberg’s 12-minute Sonata is a substantial and exciting addition to the piccolo repertoire. Harberg’s uniquely American sound gives voice to the full range of the piccolo’s expressive and virtuosic powers within a traditional three-movement sonata. Featuring driving rhythms, engaging melodies, and jazz-tinged harmonies, the sonata is ideal for advanced and professional performers.

Winner: NFA Newly Published Music Awards 2020

Performance duration (approx): 12'00

Difficulty guide: 9
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is total beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).


  1. Allegro, flowing
  2. Moderato, dreamy
  3. Vivace, driving, playful

Item Details


  • Part 1: Piccolo
  • Part 2: Piano
Category: Accompanied Piccolo Music
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Publisher's reference: 114-41922
Our Stock Code: 1452327
Media Type: Paperback - Score and parts (23 pages [score])

20% off Theodore Presser music20% off Theodore Presser music

20% off Theodore Presser music20% off Theodore Presser music