Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Instrument trials by appointment only: book an appointment

Sonata in G minor

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.

From the Publisher

The “Devil’s Trill” Sonata is the most famous of the violin sonatas of Giuseppe Tartini (1692–1770). In the new scholarly-critical edition, it holds many a surprise in store. For the first time, all available contemporary sources have been consulted to produce an edition closely approximating Tartini’s lost autograph. The solo part offers several ossia passages and alternative articulation marks, and the score have been given an eminently playable realization of the continuo part offering ample scope for improvisation. Also for the first time, this edition includes a separate part for violoncello or violone.

A detailed preface sheds light on the genesis and subsequent reception of this sonata. There is also a critical report discussing and evaluating all sources used and providing explanations of a number of important passages, including the famous trill itself.

Short text:
Of the many violin sonatas by Giuseppe Tartini , this remarkable work still forms part of the essential repertoire. Until now however, it has not been available in a scholarly edition with critical report. Players will discover many surprises in the new figured bass realization. It also contains, for the first time, a separate continuo part for violoncello.

Item Details

Category: Violin & Piano Repertoire
Publisher: Hortus Musicus
Publisher's reference: HM278
Our Stock Code: 1191677
Media Type: Paperback