Call Us: 020 8662 8400
We remain open by appointment only for the time being.
Book An Appointment or Video Consultation

Sonata for Flute and Piano (1948)

  • Highly recommended
You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.

Pan - Journal of the British Flute Society

This review first appeared in Pan, the journal of the British Flute Society and is reproduced with permission. Join the BFS: membership starts from £20 a year.

Each movement has its particular challenge. The Fughetta is a duet for one flute! Philippa Davies, whom I started teaching when she was nine, is one of the few people who plays it brilliantly. It is set for FRSM, but rarely performed.

Atarah Ben-Tovim

From the Publisher

This work is in one movement, but falls into three distinct sections: the first, slow, in which the theme is announced by the piano. Next, an Adagio tranquillo in which the main idea is first played by the flute then appears in various guises on both flute and piano until it resolves into quavers leading to Allegro Ritmico e Feroce. This is a fugue with the first and second voices both being played by the flute. The piano joins in with third and fourth voices growing to a fortissimo based on the Adagio, which leads into the Coda.

Performance duration (approx): 8'

Difficulty guide: 9
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Piano
Category: 20th Century Flute and Piano Music
Publisher: Alfred Lengnick
Publisher's reference: AL5909
Our Stock Code: 904780
Media Type: Paperback (15 pages [score])

Save 25% on selected Schott publications.Save 25% on selected Schott publications

Save 25% on selected BG France Accessories.Save 25% on selected BG France Accessories.

Save 20% on Faber Music.Save 20% on Faber Music