Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment before travelling.

Sonata for Flute and Piano

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.

From the Publisher

Otar Taktakishvili (1924-1989) was a Georgian composer, conductor, administrator, and artistic director, who played a leading role in the post-war revival of professional Georgian music. He graduated from the Tbilisi Conservatory in 1947, having composed the official anthem of the Georgian Republic while still a student, and before long he became a professor there. Later in his career, he was Chairman of the Georgian Composers’ Union and Minister of Culture of the Georgian Republic.

Taktakishvili, like most Georgian composers of his generation, was heavily influenced by local folk music. Georgian choral polyphony is among the oldest in the Christian world, and its distinctive techniques are seen in his lyrical and expressive style.

In the west, Taktakishvili’s best known work is perhaps his Sonata For Flute And Piano in C major. This 44-page book contains all three movements and comes with a separate Flute score.

Difficulty guide: 8
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is total beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).

Approved Exam Music

Recommended for the following exam grade(s):

Trinity College London Trinity College London Flute (Ongoing)
Grades: FTCL
Trinity College London Trinity College London Flute (from 2023)
Grades: 7


  1. Allegro cantabile
  2. Aria: Moderato con moto
  3. Allegro scherzando

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Piano
Category: 20th Century Flute and Piano Music
Publisher: Associated Music Publishers
Publisher's reference: GS81826
Our Stock Code: 1147223
Media Type: Paperback (44 pages [score])

20% off Edition Peters20% off Edition Peters

20% off ALRY Publications20% off ALRY Publications