We are running our mail order service with a very small team.
Please allow extra time for us to handle your order, and contact us by email rather than phone as we cannot handle large call volumes. Thank you.
Call Us: 020 8662 8400


Sonata in B flat major for Flute and Piano


  • Recommended edition
  • Editor's Choice

Staff Pick

“Lovely Beethoven!”

Chris Hankin Just Flutes staff member - chrish@justflutes.com

This Sonata in B flat major by Beethoven is a really early work that can't be entirely authenticated. Unusually for this period it has four movements, which is great as he didn't write any other sonatas for us. The publisher's note describes the work best: 'There are a number of stylistic grounds which suggest this is an early work by Beethoven: for example, the surprising  turn to D major at the beginning of the development, or the lengthy development  itself. The Polonaise with it's trio glows with a Mozartian lightness and grace, the slow movement announces 'Master of the Adagio' and the merry variation finale would feel perfectly at home in a serenade by Beethoven.' The note range is small in this piece and there is plenty of interest in the piano part so it's ideal for performance by 2 good students. It's also a perfect introduction to the world of one of the greats.

From the Publisher

At the dispersion of Beethoven's estate, there is a very hastily written copy, not in Beethoven's hand, of a sonata in B flat major for flute and piano. Even today the authenticity of the work has not been ascertained....


Difficulty guide: 5-7
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).


  1. Allegro
  2. Polonaise
  3. Thema and 4 Variations

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Piano
Category: Classical Flute and Piano Music
Publisher: Breitkopf & Härtel
Publisher's reference: EB5879
Our Stock Code: 923767
Media Type: Paperback (36 pages [score])