Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment before travelling.

Sonata in E minor for 3 Cellos

£19.99 £14.99
You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.
  • Sale

From the Publisher

The present Sonata in E minor originally was the first sonata in Trois Trios d’une Difficulté Progressive pour le Violoncelle Viola et Violoncelle Op. 38. The solo violoncello was accompanied by a viola and a second violoncello. The two other trios from Op. 38 are much more difficult, with a lot of passage work, thumb position, tenor and violin clef. In contrast to the distinct virtuosity Romberg demands from the soloists in his cello concertos, the solo part is mostly played in the neck positions and is a harmonious blend of cantilenas and easily playable passage work. The present edition, arranged for three cellos, is ideal for cello lessons. The easy bass part can be played by another student, the second part by the teacher or an advanced student. Also available: The popular arrangement of the Trio for Violoncello and Piano (SE 1007) by Friedrich Gustav Jansen (1837–1910). This edition is part of the new Schott Student Edition series which offers varied literature at five different levels of difficulty, from 1 (easy) to 5 (difficult), for instrumental lessons.

Difficulty guide: 4
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is total beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).

Item Details


  • Part 1: Cello
  • Part 2: Cello
  • Part 3: Cello
Category: Cello Ensemble Music
Publisher: Schott
Publisher's reference: SE 1008
Our Stock Code: 1398960
Media Type: Paperback (18 pages [score])

20% off selected Schott Publications20% off selected Schott Publications