Call Us: 020 8662 8400
We remain open by appointment only for the time being.
Book An Appointment or Video Consultation

Sonata in D major for Flute and Continuo


From the Publisher

Jakob Friedrich Kleinknecht (1722-1794) was vice kapellmeister and court composer, and later a kapellmeister, then musical director. He wrote instrumental concertos and chamber music works in which the flute and violin played a privileged role. This sonata is printed for the first time in the form presented here. The original used for this edition is an old manuscript conserved by the National Library of Bavaria. The author of the manuscript is unknown: it is an arrangement of no. 2 Œuvre III, which is a collection of 6 flute trios (2 flutes, bass) published by Bérault (1767) under the name of "Mr. Kleinknecht". In the harpsichord accompaniment, the note of flute II is assigned to the right hand, and the bass part to the left.

Difficulty guide: 6
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Basso continuo
Category: Baroque Flute and Continuo Music
Publisher: Zimmermann Frankfurt
Publisher's reference: ZM32390
Our Stock Code: 1019933
Media Type: Paperback