Call Us: 020 8662 8400
We remain open by appointment only for the time being.
Book An Appointment or Video Consultation

Sonata in C major, BWV1033

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.
  • Recommended edition

From the Publisher

In closing, a little C major sonata, complete at last: With the publication of the Sonata BWV 1033, Barthold Kuijken's new edition of Johann Sebastian Bach's flute sonatas is finally complete. As with BWV 1020 and 1031, Kuijken questions Bach's authorship and even suspects that each movement of the short sonata might have been written by a different composer. However, in his meticulous edition of the music text, no question is left unanswered. Kuijken even makes a performance-practical suggestion that allows all movements of the sonata to be played uniformly by the flute and basso continuo.

Our Description

Afterword by Kuijken:

  • Source Description and Evaluation
  • The Edition
  • The Authorship
  • Notes on Performance Practice
  • Critical Commentary
Difficulty guide: 6
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).


  1. Andante
  2. Allegro
  3. Adagio
  4. Menuet 1 & 2

Item Details

Category: Baroque Flute and Continuo Music
Publisher: Breitkopf & Härtel
Publisher's reference: EB8690
Our Stock Code: 918565
Media Type: Paperback (40 pages [score])

Save 25% on selected Schott publications.Save 25% on selected Schott publications

Save 20% on Faber Music.Save 20% on Faber Music

Save 25% on selected BG France Accessories.Save 25% on selected BG France Accessories.