Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment prior to travelling.

Tales from the Rambling Road for Flute
Includes Online Audio

Arranged by Bronco Hutchings
You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.
  • Staff Pick

Staff Pick

“Fun for Folksong Lovers!”

Chris Hankin Just Flutes staff member - [email protected]

This is a great book if you love British folk music.  There are twenty five short pieces which give a comprehensive guide to all forms of the genre. There are ballads, dances,  marches and reels, some familiar, others less so, but all of them are classic.  Each one comes with a brief description and history, chord symbols and a downloadable backing track. They are also straightforward to read, mkaing that all important improvisation and embellishment easier to accomplish. This is such fun and a dream for those who want to party folk-style!

From the Publisher

Tales from the Rambling Road is a collection of 25 folk tunes from around the British Isles and Ireland, designed to be accessible for anyone wanting to establish a strong folk style. This edition is suitable for Flute (Standard C flute).

The collection is suitable for intermediate players and above, especially those who are more experienced in other styles who usually learn and perform from sheet music. The book features the melody line and chords, providing an accessible notated route into the style, and also allowing and supporting improvisation as well, if desired.

All pieces have backing tracks recorded by experienced folk musicians, so you can perform with you very own band! The tracks are designed to push you forward to a pace and intensity expected in sessions. Backing tracks can be downloaded via the link (download coded provided) or by scanning the QR code in the book. Alternatively you may choose to opt for the PDF/MP3 files sent via email (drop down box). We aim to send same day where possible, but please allow up to 48 hours for delivery of these.

We encourage playing the tunes also as solo instruments (at any speed) to help to get to know the pieces; in fact, they're very pieces as solos in their own right!

Behind the Music: Bronco Hutchings is a composer, arranger and multi-instrumentalist with a deep passion for folk music. He has performed with groups such as The Yetties and Ship of Fools and is currently working with us on a range of exciting new resources for our Tales From... series.

Difficulty guide: 5-7
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is total beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).


  • Are Ye Sleepin' Maggie
  • Athol Highlander
  • Blackthorn Stick
  • Davy Davy Nick Nack
  • Drummond Castle
  • Drunken Sailor
  • Fairest One
  • Grenadier Guards
  • Inisheer
  • John Ryan's Polka
  • Lanigan's Ball
  • Mairi's Wedding
  • Miss McLeod's Reel
  • Parson's Farewell
  • Rochdale Coconut Dance
  • Simple Gifts
  • Soldier's Joy
  • Star of the County Down
  • The Flower of the Quern
  • The Sheep Under the Snow
  • The Skye Boat Song
  • The Swallowtail Jig
  • The Tenpenny Bit
  • Three Little Boats
  • Whip Jamboree

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
Category: British Folk Flute Music
Publisher: Masquerade Music
Publisher's reference: HBM010306
Our Stock Code: 1501216
Media Type: Paperback (30 pages [score]); includes accompaniment Online Audio

20% off selected Boosey & Hawkes music20% off selected Boosey & Hawkes music

20% off Kevin Mayhew books20% off Kevin Mayhew books