Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment before travelling.

Six Recorder Sonatas for Recorder and Basso Continuo [Playing score(s)]

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.

From the Publisher

At the beginning of the 18th century, the recorder enjoyed great popularity as a solo instrument for amateurs. This also applied to the princesses of the English court, for whose musical entertainment and training Handel's six recorder sonatas were written in 1725/26. Only four of them appeared in print shortly afterwards and thus reached a wider audience; the other two were only discovered for the recorder in the 20th century. Thanks to their melodic and rhythmic conciseness, the pieces, which are comparatively easy to master in the flute part, belong to the most beautiful thing that has been written for this instrument. The continuo instrument demands a well-versed player because of its far reaching bass lines and rich figuration.


  • Sonata in G minor HWV 360
  • Sonata in A minor HWV 362
  • Sonata in C major HWV 365
  • Sonata in F major HWV 369
  • Sonata in D minor HWV 367a

Item Details

Category: Descant Recorder Repertoire
Publisher: G. Henle Verlag
Publisher's reference: HN 1574
Our Stock Code: 1498240
Media Type: Paperback - Playing score(s) (34 pages [score])

20% off Barenreiter20% off Barenreiter

15% off the new ABRSM Syllabus15% off the new ABRSM Syllabus