Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment prior to travelling.
** Royal Mail strike action will cause delays in December. If you require your order urgently please select an alternative shipping carrier **

Six Dances in Bulgarian Rhythm from Mikrokosmos for Piano

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.

Approved Exam Music

Recommended for the following exam grade(s):

ABRSM ABRSM Piano (2023 to 2024)
Grades: 8

From the Publisher

These six dances form the final culmination of Bartók’s “Mikrokosmos” (HN 1408-1410), that work of the century comprising over 150 pieces. He dedicated this grouping, collected under its own title, to the famous English pianist Harriet Cohen. Inspired, this specialist for contemporary music found in them “a whole world of music” and championed the pieces. Bartók himself added the dances to his concert repertory early on, though initially in a reduced form that omitted the fifth dance, which was not composed until the end of 1939 as one of the last works of the collection. Our practical, standalone Urtext edition of these six dances also features an early version of the concluding piece and supplies interesting background details about Bartók’s own recital practice. This edition’s musical text is based on that of the Bartók Complete Edition.


    • Six Dances in Bulgarian Rhythm, No. 1
    • Six Dances in Bulgarian Rhythm, No. 2
    • Six Dances in Bulgarian Rhythm, No. 3
    • Six Dances in Bulgarian Rhythm, No. 4
    • Six Dances in Bulgarian Rhythm, No. 5
    • Six Dances in Bulgarian Rhythm, No. 6

Item Details


  • Part 1: Piano
Category: Piano Repertoire
Publisher: G. Henle Verlag
Publisher's reference: HN 1411
Our Stock Code: 1601336
Media Type: Paperback