Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment prior to travelling.

Sinfonia II for Four Flutes

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.
  • Highly recommended

From the Publisher

This is the second of a series of 13 String Symphonies (sometimes labelled ‘Sinfonia’) that were composed by Mendelssohn in his early teens. Remarkably, these pieces were undiscovered until the early 1960’s. This early symphony shows his rigorous training in Bach counterpoint and chorale harmonies, but still has pointers toward his own individual style that was to develop throughout his lifetime. It follows the standard three movement form, with an opening Allegro, a slower middle movement and then a lively closing movement. In this edition, dynamics and articulation have been largely left to the performers discretion.

Performance duration (approx): 11'

Difficulty guide: 7-8
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is total beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).


  1. Allegro
  2. Andante
  3. Allegro vivace

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Flute
  • Part 3: Alto Flute
  • Part 4: Bass Flute
Category: Flute Quartet Music: Four Mixed Flutes
Publisher: Forton Music
Publisher's reference: FM875
Our Stock Code: 1472745
Media Type: Paperback - Score and parts (12 pages [score])