We are running our mail order service with a very small team.
Please allow extra time for us to handle your order, and contact us by email rather than phone as we cannot handle large call volumes. Thank you.
Call Us: 020 8662 8400


Two Sonatas from Set 1: Nos 1 & 2


From the Publisher

Sonata 1 in D major opens with a Larghetto full of the kind of rhetorical expression one associates with Handel. It is followed by a busy Allegro and a concise Tempo di Minuetto movement that celebrates the extreme popularity of this dance, which, in contrast to its role in the Classical symphony, most often serves as a finale in works written around the middle of the eighteenth century.

Sonata 2 in G major is in a traditional pastoral key, an association confirmed immediately in a charming siciliana marked Andante. The following Allegro assai is dominated by a three-hammer-blow opening motive, which the composer treats with great insistence and some ingenuity. The concluding pair of movements illustrates Balicourt’s Janus-like cultivation of both galant and baroque musical languages: the Andante in E minor takes us into the world of a slow movement in a mid-eighteenth-century operatic sinfonia, while the Allegro has all the characteristics of a Corellian giga written fifty years earlier.

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Piano
Category: Classical Flute and Piano Music
Publisher: Edition HH
Publisher's reference: HH445.fsp
Our Stock Code: 1408393
Media Type: Paperback - Score and parts (19 pages [score])