Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Instrument trials by appointment only: book an appointment

Serenade in F major after K497 arranged for Flute, 2 Oboes, 2 Clarinets, 2 Horns and 2 Bassoons [Score only]

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.
  • Staff Pick

Staff Pick

“Arranged with love!”

Chris Hankin Just Flutes staff member - [email protected]

This arrangement of Mozart's Sonata for Four Hands K497 shows great attention to detail. The voicing of the parts is skillful so whilst remaining faithful to the original, this version takes on a new life of its own. Perfect as a centrepiece for a chamber music concert, this great addition to the repertoire has been done with love!

From the Publisher

The original inspiration for this arrangement was the musicianship of John Whitfield and his Endymion Ensemble, who gaave the first performance at the Spitalfields Festival. Frequent performances by the ensemble of Mozart's chamber music for winds drew attention to the lack of a part for the flute. The remedy was this transcription, providing an ideal opportunity to celebrate the radiant flute playing of Helen Keen. In making this arrangement, I imagined all Mozart's concerto performers in the same place at the same time, with suitably qualified seconds, able to push their technical abilities to the limit, so that, in imagination, if not in fact, this Serenade could be played on instruments of the period. My especial thanks to John Whitfiled for his great care and attention to musical detail in the fine engraving of the score and parts.

to the memory of Janet Craxton

Performance duration (approx): 25'

Difficulty guide: 8-9
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Oboe
  • Part 3: Oboe
  • Part 4: Bb Clarinet
  • Part 5: Bb Clarinet
  • Part 6: French Horn
  • Part 7: French Horn
  • Part 8: Bassoon
  • Part 9: Bassoon
Category: Music for Larger Wind Group
Publisher: Q Publications
Publisher's reference: 195007a
Our Stock Code: 1458107
Media Type: Paperback - Score only (71 pages [score])