Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Instrument trials by appointment only: book an appointment

Sentimental Dances for Wind Quartet

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.
  • Staff Pick

Staff Pick

“Nostalgic music for Wind Quartet”

Chris Hankin Just Flutes staff member - [email protected]

This is a  charming piece for Wind Quartet  which tells the rather sad story of two people who meet and then part. It has the sentimental feel of a bygone age with harmony which seems to be out of the 1920's and melodies that tug at your heart strings. 'First Encounter' has an interesting syncopated bass line to support it's gentle tune, 'Moonlight Waltz' is pure romance, 'Time Together' is in a playful 6/8 and 'Last Dance' is in the dark key of G minor. Nostalgic music that everyone will enjoy!

From the Publisher

Sentimental Dances tells the story of two strangers who meet and develop feelings for each other, but
who ultimately cannot be together. There are a range of emotions through the pieces, from excitement
and affection to the melancholy and sorrow of Last Dance.

Sentimental Dances is a versatile set of pieces, which can be performed at functions, events or as part of a
concert. Working well together, each movement can also be played effectively as a stand alone piece.

There are 4 movements:

1. First Encounter (Duration approx 2′) Lively, fun, with curiosity and intrigue.

2. Moonlight Waltz (Duration approx. 3’30”) Emotional and romantic closeness.

3. Time Together (Duration approx. 1’45”) Relaxed and flowing together.

4. Last Dance (Duration approx. 3′) Sadness and despair as they part ways.

Performance duration (approx): 10.15

Difficulty guide: 7
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).


  1. First Encounter
  2. Moonlight Waltz
  3. Time Together
  4. Last Dance

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Oboe
  • Part 3: Bb Clarinet
  • Part 4: Bassoon
Category: Wind Quartet Music: Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, Bassoon
Publisher: Forton Music
Publisher's reference: FM798
Our Stock Code: 1449068
Media Type: Paperback - Score and parts (8 pages [score])