Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment before travelling.

Selections from The Firebird for Flute and Piano

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.
  • Staff Pick

Staff Pick


Chris Hankin Just Flutes staff member - [email protected]

Kyle MacLeod has produced a very exciting and colourful arrangement of Firebird which will present a real challenge to flute player and pianist alike. All of the colour and excitement of Stravinsky's writing has been captured despite the obvious need to adapt the music to the needs of the instruments. Danse Infernale has brilliant rhythmic energy driven by a strong bass line which allows the flute to convey as much textural richness as possible. The Berceause and the Hymne final are more simply constructed with the flute and piano combining together skillfully. If you don't really know Firebird this is an excellent way to acquaint yourself with it and if you love Stravinsky you will find this irresistable. Stunning music in a stunning arrangement - what more could you ask for?

From the Publisher

Igor Stravinsky's setting of the Slavonic fable of the firebird L'oiseau de Feu is one of the pioneering orchestral works from the beginning of the 20th century. Reviews of the first performance of the ballet at the Theatre National de l'Opera in Paris in 1910 lauded Stravinsky's 'dazzling music in all shades of colour' which was also described as a 'glittering and bewitching phenomenon'.

In 1911 and 1919 Stravinsky created two orchestral suites which can be performed as independent orchestral works. A further version followed in 1945 whcih has in part provided the basis for the following arrangement for flute and piano.

Performance duration (approx): 11'00

Difficulty guide: 8-9
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is total beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).


  • Danse infernale de tous les sujets de Kastchei
  • Berceuse
  • Hymne final

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Piano
Category: 20th Century Flute and Piano Music
Publisher: Schott
Publisher's reference: FTR 234
Part of the Il Flauto Traverso series
Our Stock Code: 1411423
Media Type: Paperback (29 pages [score])

20% off Edition Peters20% off Edition Peters

20% off ALRY Publications20% off ALRY Publications