Call Us: 020 8662 8400
We remain open by appointment only for the time being.
Book An Appointment or Video Consultation

The Seafaring Fiddler
Includes CD

Arranged by Edward Huws Jones

From the Publisher

22 fiddle tunes from the golden age of sail, featuring dance tunes, shanties (work songs), recreational ‘forebitters’ and composed melodies which give the landlubber’s take on the romance of the sea. Edward Huws Jones explains that “during the heyday of sail, the busiest sea-routes of all were the North Atlantic crossings, especially between Liverpool and the American cotton ports; it was the heady mixture of African-American and Irish music which gave birth to the mid-century flowering of the sea shanty. Meanwhile English-speaking vessels were sailing to the Cape, India, Australia and many other far-flung destinations, carrying a two-way traffic of song and dance.” The tunes in this collection can all be played as unaccompanied fiddle tunes, which is how they would have been played in the days of sail. But as in other books in the Fiddler series, the flexible format allows a wide variety of different combinations and ensembles. Suitable for intermediate and elementary standard performers.

Difficulty guide: 3-4
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).


  • Don't you see the ships a-coming?
  • The Sailors' Dance (Purcell)
  • The Liverpool hornpipe
  • The leaving of Liverpool
  • We be three poor mariners (Ravenscroft)
  • Spanish ladies
  • South ~Australia
  • Santy Anna
  • The new-rigged ship
  • The sloop John B
  • Litten's hornpipe
  • The Greenland whale fisheries
  • Row well, ye mariners
  • The shores of Botany Bay
  • Hornpipe (Sullivan)
  • The tipsy sailor
  • Jack Tar
  • Farewell, lovely Nancy
  • Henry Martin
  • The three sea captains
  • Portsmouth (Playford)
  • The quaside

Item Details


  • Part 1: Violin
  • Part 2: Piano
Category: Violin Albums & Collections
Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes
Publisher's reference: BH12763
Part of the The Fiddler Collection series
Our Stock Code: 1373165
Media Type: Paperback (112 pages [score]); includes accompaniment CD