Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Instrument trials in a Covid-secure environment. Book an appointment


£4.95 £1.80
You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.
  • Clearance
  • Exceptional value for money
  • Staff Pick

Staff Pick

“Unusual piccolo music!”

Chris Hankin Just Flutes staff member - [email protected]
Sarab could be for you if you’re looking for something unusual. It set mostly in the low register of the piccolo and uses ‘eighth tone music’ to portray a ‘mourning solitary dancer’.  The style is engagingly enigmatic and as it lasts 10 minutes has the added bonus of being amazing value for money!

From the Publisher

Sarab (mj167) was composed in 1991 for Danielle Eden, who gave the first performance in London’s Purcell Room on 29th June 1993.

A mourning, solitary dancer comes to terms with his varying emotions by performing, either to himself or to others, a Sarab. Although the dancer’s feet maintain a fairly regular shuffle to some unheard music, his mind produces an often unrelated counterpoint of seldom stable ideas. This is marked by the change of expressive trajectory in most phrases, played against an underlying very slow semibreve beat. Although, like a Sarabande, the dance is based in slow triple time, a Sarab does not incorporate a regular harmonic displacement and is never part of a dance-suite.

Sarab exploits the often neglected lower range of the piccolo, and its ability to perform eighth-tone music. Malcolm Hill’s use of this microtone forms the basis for quite wide intervals, which never serve as “chromatic inflections”.

Difficulty guide: 9
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).

Item Details


  • Part 1: Piccolo
Category: Unaccompanied Piccolo Music
Publisher: Just Flutes Edition
Publisher's reference: HIL030
Our Stock Code: 1006384
Media Type: Paperback (5 pages [score])