Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Instrument trials by appointment only: book an appointment

Rückblick for Bass Clarinet and Piano

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.

From the Publisher

The Shoa never was a theme in the works of Ursula Mamlok – with the exception of Rückblick for saxophone and piano which she wrote in 2002 on commission of the Temple University in memory of Kristallnacht. The contrast between slow and fast movements is much more elaborate than in her other works from that period, with the fast movements appearing somewhat driven while the piano part for a few moments adopts an otherwise unknown severity. Near the end of the third movement, cantabile and fleeting gestures are suddenly pushed toward each other. The first fast movement arises from the destruction of attempted cantability. The Elegy (2nd movement) dies away with a four-fold reminder of its initial motif, the last attempt remaining fragmentary. The fourth movement Lament concludes with a figure that returns to its beginning.

In addition to the original version with alto saxophone, versions with bass clarinet or for clarinet in Bb are available.

Item Details


  • Part 1: Bass Clarinet
  • Part 2: Piano
Category: Music for Bass Clarinet
Publisher: Bote and Bock
Publisher's reference: BB 3561
Our Stock Code: 1507966
Media Type: Paperback - Score and parts