Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment prior to travelling.
** Royal Mail international shipments are subject to delays. If you require your order urgently please select an alternative shipping carrier.**

Ragmala [Double Wind Quintet]

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.
  • Award-winning product

From the Publisher

‘Ragmala’ (meaning ‘A garland of ragas) concerns the passing of a day, and is written in Indian ragas. Indian classical music is largely improvised according to the strict rules of melody (raga) and rhythm patterns (tala).  The Indian scale is Sa Ri Ga Ma Pa Dha Ni Sa. A little like tonic sol-fa on that Sa can be pitched on any note the main performer chooses. However, whereas any note in Western classical music can be natural, sharp or flat, in Indian music Sa and Pa are only allowed to be natural, Ri, Ga, Dha and Ni can be flattened but never sharpened, whilst Ma can be sharpened, but never flattened.  A raga (of which there are hundreds all with different names), is a cross between a scale and a melody, based on combinations of notes, and only the fixed notes of the raga can be used. Some ragas have a different order of notes when ascending or descending. Each raga is supposed to express the mood of a particular time of day, or season.   There is a different concept of harmony in Indian music, as chord based harmony does not exist. Groups of classical musicians in India tend to be smaller, with most players playing different versions of the main melody. The harmony is formed by the rising and falling melody against a drone-like bass.  in ‘Ragmala’ I have followed the rules of the ragas, but in a manner foreign to most Indian classical musicians, as I have allowed harmonies to form between the ten individual lines.

Winner, Chamber Music category, National Flute Association (USA) Newly Published Music Competition 2017

Difficulty guide: 7-8
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is total beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).


  1. Bhairav (Dawn - Sunrise)
  2. Sarang (Mid Day - Early Afternoon)
  3. Kafi (Early Evening)
  4. Bageshri (Night)

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Flute
  • Part 3: Oboe doubling on Cor Anglais
  • Part 4: Oboe
  • Part 5: Bb Clarinet
  • Part 6: Bb Clarinet
  • Part 7: French Horn
  • Part 8: French Horn
  • Part 9: Bassoon
  • Part 10: Bassoon
Category: Music for Larger Wind Group
Publisher: Forton Music
Publisher's reference: FM611
Our Stock Code: 1399424
Media Type: Paperback (15 pages [score])

Don't Dream. Play - 12 months' 0% Finance on Selected FlutesDon't Dream. Play - 12 months' 0% Finance on Selected Flutes