Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Instrument trials by appointment only: book an appointment

Quintet for Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, Bassoon and Piano

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.

Our Description

Editor's Choice

This is a wonderfully original work by Andre Caplet. Its four contrasting movements make the best use of the instrumental colour available, as you would expect from someone who greatly admired Debussy, and show this particular medium off very well. The first movement Allegro Con Brio in D major opens strongly to grab the attention. Both this and the Adagio are characterised by big sweeping phrases that are a joy to play. The Scherzo is lightly sketched but the Finale is characterised by a swirling piano part which propels the music to an exciting conclusion. This piece is not to be missed!

Difficulty guide: 8
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute or Violin
  • Part 2: Oboe or Violin
  • Part 3: A Clarinet or Viola
  • Part 4: Bassoon or Cello
  • Part 5: Piano
Category: Music for Wind Group With Piano
Publisher: Rosewood Publications
Publisher's reference: RP07
Our Stock Code: 956901
Media Type: Paperback