Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Instrument trials by appointment only: book an appointment

Quartet in F Major The "American" Quartet

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.

From the Publisher

This quartet was composed during Dvorak's time in America, during a summer vacation in 1893. It was written in Spillville, Iowa, which at the time was home to a large Czech immigrant community. Dvorak seems to have found the natural country surroundings much more to his liking, having spent much of his previous time in the country in New York. The work was written very quickly, being sketched in three days and finished in about two weeks. In this quartet, Dvorak finally seems to find a balance between his melodic invention and a clear structure. Many writers have tried to find specific 'American' features in this work - from pentatonic melodies to native Indian tunes to American birdsong - but in general such specific references are doubted. The first movement moves from passages of great harmonic stillness through a much more dramatic development section that takes the music through fugato section before recapping the original material. The second movement features a simple, pentatonic melody over a pulsing accompaniment. This melody is shared between the highest and lowest parts, before being developed in an extended middle section until the bass flute restates the original tune while the accompaniment thins out completely. The third movement is a variant of a traditional scherzo. It features two tunes, the main melody being a sprightly tune full of off-beats and cross-rhythms. The alternate melody is actually a variant of the main scherzo theme, but in a minor key and at half tempo. The final movement is in a traditional rondo form. The main melody is once more pentatonic, the B section is more lyrical, and the C section is a chorale theme.

Difficulty guide: 8
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Flute
  • Part 3: Alto Flute
  • Part 4: Bass Flute
Category: Flute Quartet Music: Four Mixed Flutes
Publisher: Forton Music
Publisher's reference: FM536
Our Stock Code: 1389128
Media Type: Paperback