Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Instrument trials by appointment only: book an appointment

Quartet in C Major for Flute, Violin, Viola and Cello, KV309 (284b)

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.
  • Highly recommended
  • Interesting, worth a look

From the Publisher

The present edition of the Quartet in C major by F. A. Hoffmeister, after the piano sonata K309 (284b) by Mozart, is based on manuscripts of individual parts which are preserved in the Senckenberg Library in Frankfurt.

Besides obviously wrong notes, numerous inaccuracies (particularaly in the phrasing which varies considerably from part to part) were corrected by referring to similar passages. Missing measures were constructed in the same manner. In cases of doubt a comparison with Mozart's Piano Sonata proved useful, although it differs significantly from the quartet.

Performance duration (approx): 18'

Difficulty guide: 8
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).


  1. Allegro con Spirito
  2. Andante un poco adagio
  3. Rondo - Allegro grazioso

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Violin
  • Part 3: Viola
  • Part 4: Cello
Category: Music for Flute Quartet (Flute, Violin, Viola, Cello)
Publisher: Edition Butorac
Publisher's reference: EB-K055-G
Our Stock Code: 1460957
Media Type: Paperback - Score and parts (37 pages [score])